Subjective well-being: life scale

May 27, 2010

The Satisfaction with Life Scale

The Satisfaction with Life Scale has been designed by Ed Diener, Robert A. Emmons, Randy J. Larsen and Sharon Griffin as noted in their 1985 article in the Journal of Personality Assessment.

Below are five statements that you may agree or disagree with. Using the 1 – 7 scale below, indicate your agreement with each item by placing the appropriate number on the line preceding that item. Please be open and honest in your responding.

• 7 – Strongly agree
• 6 – Agree
• 5 – Slightly agree
• 4 – Neither agree nor disagree
• 3 – Slightly disagree
• 2 – Disagree
• 1 – Strongly disagree

____ In most ways my life is close to my ideal.
____ The conditions of my life are excellent.
____ I am satisfied with my life.
____ So far I have gotten the important things I want in life.
____ If I could live my life over, I would change almost nothing.

31 – 35 Extremely satisfied
26 – 30 Satisfied
21 – 25 Slightly satisfied
20 Neutral
15 – 19 Slightly dissatisfied
10 – 14 Dissatisfied
5 – 9 Extremely dissatisfied

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

